BP2 Animoto

30 09 2012

My First Animoto

I made my first Animoto video today. The process was very smooth and intuitive. Novice computer users should be able to easily work Animoto. The music was also provided by Animoto.

Producing and Posting with Animoto

I spent longer figuring out  and adding this text box than I did making my first 3 Animotos

When you first create your Animoto account, it gives you the option to link your Facebook account. An Animoto can be automatically produced from your pictures on Facebook. It whips a video right out.

The second option is much more useful to me as an educator.  You can upload your own pics , video, and even your own music. The menu’s are all labeled logically and do exactly what they say the do. Production can be mastered quickly.

Animoto would not post to WordPress

It is a great introductory piece of software, that can help you build up to more advanced software. I will have a high appeal to people interested in social media.  Animoto post very easily to Facebook, but would not embed to WordPress.com. Some people blame Animoto, and some people blame WordPress. It do not know who’d fault is was, but I spent a good three hours looking for a work around, with no luck.

Animoto also has an iPhone app that is very user friendly.You simply select a theme, select some pictures, and select some music. Animoto will need a few seconds to process. After it is done processing, you may easily post it to Facebook or other services.

Cost

The basic service is free. This allows you to produce a video lasting about 30 seconds. This could be a limiting factor, but it is still something that can be worked with.  The paid version allows for video’s of unlimited length. I feel the subscription is a bit pricey. It runs $5 a month to get all the capabilities of Animoto. The free services are plenty for the normal user.

 

Conclusion

Fun for casual use!

Animoto was a fun to use. Its free services provide a little bit of novelty. I will probably integrate an Animoto into one of the classes I teach. The subscription is not of any real value in my opinion. If you are going to spend $5 a month indefinitely, I say just buy a more robust video editing software. It is a great introductory piece of software, that can help you build up to more advanced software. I will have a high appeal to people interested in social media.  Animoto post very easily to Facebook, but would not embed to WordPress.com. Some people blame Animoto, and some people blame WordPress. It do not know who’d fault is was, but I spent a good three hours looking for a work around, with no luck. I finally had to capture the project and post it to Youtube in order to post it to this blog. Ultimately Animoto proved to be a fun product and will be good medium to have my students produce extremely short videos with. If you are a more experienced computer user, you may want to stick with using iMovie or even Windows Movie Maker.

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 10 2012
valeriewaitley

Jay, I have used Animoto before and I agree with your review in that it is very user friendly. I only slightly disagree with the idea that it isn’t very robust, because I think the final product comes out quite professionally and i like being able to use music. Music is so problematic to use in iMovie (unless using the trailer templates) due to copyright concerns so I like a program that allows for use of music without as many “hoops.” When I first saw animoto I was looking at it for products I create for my students. I appreciated that you mentioned your students using it to create products. I have several assignments where I now I can imagine ways for my students to also use animoto to create.

Like

4 10 2012
BP 3/4 LiveMeeting Practical and Animoto fun « Media Rich Engagement- ETC Blog

[…] if you enjoy putting your pictures to music visit here to read Jay Sanzin’s take on Animoto.   Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the […]

Like

5 10 2012
SandieC

I found that using Animoto was a little different than using iMovie or Movie Maker. I reviewed and used Animoto when I was taking ETC as a student, now I am an alumni and enjoy using Animoto. Here is my take on it.
http://sandra-colby.blogspot.com/2010_04_01_archive.html. Enjoy!

The music and images that Animoto uses are Creative Commons so you don’t have to look around for images that are copyright free.

Like

5 10 2012
BP 3 & 4 « ETC blog

[…] This is the link to my comment. https://sanzinsamurayeaye.wordpress.com/2012/09/30/bp2-animoto/comment-page-1/#comment-4 […]

Like

Leave a Reply

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Livingston County Photographers Group

Monthly Meetings on 2nd and 4th Wednesday.

Heroclixin' ...it's all about F.U.N.

HeroClix team builds, figure reviews, battle reports and more

Graphic Policy

Where Comic Books and Politics Meet

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Married With Clix Battle Report

Tournament Results, Friendly Fire, Review Articles and more from your Favourite Clixin' Couple

The Hudsucker

Read. Think. Repeat.

Gaming Grounds

Defy The Meta

HeroClix Danger Room

Classic teams, classic matchups and more

[grey_zealot's_zone]

Amateur hobby blog, about HeroClix and other topics of interest. I am NOT a journalist or professional writer. NOT an artist. Blue collar shlub with opinions.

Daily Misfit

Funny Photos & Pop Culture

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

EDM Greene

Ken Greene's EDM Blog

Dave's World

Dave Gibson 2.0

EDM613_Mark_Chacon

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Thomas Tobar

MAC Full Sail Class

