Week 1 – Peer Comment – Wesley Hancock

6 06 2013

Reply originally posted at

http://wesleygh2.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/week-1-reading-entry-copyright/comment-page-1/#comment-5

Wesley, I agree on the format of the lesson. It was very engaging. I really loved the series of short videos.

While I do not agree with stealing music, I have never felt as if the industry was impacted the way the government has led us to believe.  There are several other variables that came into play during the days of Nabster.  Remember years ago, we had this channel that played this ancient media form called music videos.

MTV

I want my MTV, not reality TV!!!

MTV was actually about music. If you think about what a music video is, you quickly realize it is nothing more than a commercial for a song or an album. We sat and watched commercials all day. We had a TV station that promoted new music.  Not only does the M need to be removed from MTV, we also have corporately run radio stations.

Clear Channel Radio owns most of the radio stations in my area. They only really limit their playlist to bands like Nickleback, which tend not to add any new direction to music. We also no longer have record stores, we shop on iTunes.

We used to go to the record store and purchase albums. If we like one song, we would usually buy the whole album. There were “singles” but those would usually cost us $4, when the whole album was on sale for $10.  Now we go to iTunes and simply buy the one song we want.

Week 1 Reading Entry: Copyright

Posted on June 4, 2013 by wesleyhancock

This weeks reading was fantastic, and I loved the presentation format. The use of the videos was great and the mixed media presentations kept me entertained and educated. Well done instructional design  Aside from presentation, there was a TON of useful information contained within the videos and readings.

I think one of the articles I enjoyed the most was the article about the US government’s admission that they had been, more or less, “fudging” their numbers about claims of copyright abuse and how it has hurt the economy. I found it interesting to read and it also resonated on a lot of levels for me. The argument that was made in the reports that the government has been citing use unreliable methods for calculating any sort of actual “loss” or “damages.” Downloading movies or music is not new, and has been going on forever with services like Napster being some of the first really big sharing communities. I’m not defending the position for pirating or copyright infringement, but that argument that is made in the reports, cited by the government, is that everyone who downloaded something is a loss of revenue.

I am glad to see the government back off of that argument, as it’s just absurd in it’s inaccuracy. To make an assumption like that is far too overreaching, and it’s interesting to hear about Uncle Sam back peddling.

Some other areas I found interesting in this week’s reading were the myths about copyright and the ways in which you can use copyrighted material under “fair use.” This is something I have always wondered as and educator, especially in the film and computer graphics world, as to just how much of a film or short can I show and use for educational purposes? Finding out that there is not really a set percentage, or time duration, was very good to hear, in that now I feel like I have a better understanding of how and when I can use something in my classes. As long as I don’t take away from the author’s ability for the work to be used or sold commercially  and the nature of my usage is educational, I feel more confident in my “fair use” domain.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Livingston County Photographers Group

Monthly Meetings on 2nd and 4th Wednesday.

Heroclixin' ...it's all about F.U.N.

HeroClix team builds, figure reviews, battle reports and more

Graphic Policy

Where Comic Books and Politics Meet

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Married With Clix Battle Report

Tournament Results, Friendly Fire, Review Articles and more from your Favourite Clixin' Couple

The Hudsucker

Read. Think. Repeat.

Gaming Grounds

Defy The Meta

HeroClix Danger Room

Classic teams, classic matchups and more

[grey_zealot's_zone]

Amateur hobby blog, about HeroClix and other topics of interest. I am NOT a journalist or professional writer. NOT an artist. Blue collar shlub with opinions.

Daily Misfit

Funny Photos & Pop Culture

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

EDM Greene

Ken Greene's EDM Blog

Dave's World

Dave Gibson 2.0

EDM613_Mark_Chacon

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Thomas Tobar

MAC Full Sail Class

