Week 2 Peer Comments Marc Chacon

15 06 2013

IMG_0410http://mark181.wordpress.com/2013/06/14/the-art-of-possibilitiy-reading-post/

Marc, your post grabbed me with the Captain America T-Shirt and then your shirt with complimentary colors. Grades are totally invented. I have experienced some classes where a student earning a “C” from one teacher  knows more that an “A” student from another.  Grades are meaningless unless the teacher really sits down to calculate the criteria of what it means to be an “A” student.  The solution to this was the standardized test, but standardized test only measure a students ability to take that test. It would be like the NFL deciding who wins the Super Bowl  by which team can do the most push ups. The desired outcome of education is to produce productive and innovative students a test can not measure this. Only an educator can measure this.

His original post

The Art of Possibilitiy Reading Post

JUNE 14, 2013

MARK181

1 COMMENT

The first four chapters of the book by Zander and Zander have given me an abundance of information to digest. It’s All Invented, Stepping into a Universe of Possibility, Giving an A, and Being a Contribution give examples of excellent life experiences and their outcomes. I was trying to figure out the format of the book the first two chapters and felt it was a type of self-help reading. The content on chapters three and four allowed me to reflect on my own journey through life and helped assure me that what I try to teach my students and children isn’t completely futile. I try not to lecture my children too much because I can tell by their body language when they will shut me out, but in school my stories are met with attentiveness and laughter. I feel the authors are trying to convey the philosophy that the means justify the ends; the ability to step outside ones self and observe objectively is an invaluable trait. I enjoy watching my own children interact and wonder how they will face the challenges put before them, I also try to have talks with them during hikes and long drives and just listen to what they say to me and each other. Grades are invented and I would prefer to give pass or fail marks instead of the traditional letter grades

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Livingston County Photographers Group

Monthly Meetings on 2nd and 4th Wednesday.

Heroclixin' ...it's all about F.U.N.

HeroClix team builds, figure reviews, battle reports and more

Graphic Policy

Where Comic Books and Politics Meet

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Married With Clix Battle Report

Tournament Results, Friendly Fire, Review Articles and more from your Favourite Clixin' Couple

The Hudsucker

Read. Think. Repeat.

Gaming Grounds

Defy The Meta

HeroClix Danger Room

Classic teams, classic matchups and more

[grey_zealot's_zone]

Amateur hobby blog, about HeroClix and other topics of interest. I am NOT a journalist or professional writer. NOT an artist. Blue collar shlub with opinions.

Daily Misfit

Funny Photos & Pop Culture

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

EDM Greene

Ken Greene's EDM Blog

Dave's World

Dave Gibson 2.0

EDM613_Mark_Chacon

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Thomas Tobar

MAC Full Sail Class

