Week 4 – Peer response to Marc Chacon

28 06 2013

Marc I totally agree with you. I spend most of my life trying to be the best that I can for my kids. I was terrified of having children, feeling that I might create some abominations that rival Frankenstein’s monster.  I was also nervous about being a teacher for many of the same reasons.  I put it off for years. I constantly hope that I have used all my education and experience to impact both my genetic children and my students.

 

Originally posted here

http://mark181.wordpress.com/2013/06/26/weekly-reading-ch-9-12/comment-page-1/#comment-22

WEEK # 4

Weekly Reading Ch. 9-12

JUNE 26, 2013

MARK181

2 COMMENTS

Chapter 11 Creating Framework for Possibility

This chapter had the most affect on my current situation in life. I enjoyed the story about the students who visited Brazil and were a little rowdy in their behavior and how the author handled the situation. The Sao Paolo story was a great example of how to get the most out of our youth through transfer of responsibility to themselves. The talk given by the author resulted in a greater understanding of what it was to be an ambassador of music and leaders. I feel that as a teacher and a parent you are constantly trying to figure out how best to handle teenager’s behavior so they can reflect on their actions and grow.

 

We are not a machine.

 

Beauty is everywhere, 

 Although I am not a religious individual I do believe that we all need guidance at varying times and the quote by Marianne Williamson addressed by Nelson Mandela is a great message to pass on to everyone.

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate,

Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.

It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us.

We as ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented

   and fabulous-

Actually, who are we not to be?

You are a child of God.

Your playing small doesn’t serve the world.

There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people

Won’t feel insecure around you.

We were born to make manifest the glory of God within us.

It is not just in some of us: it is in everyone,

And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously

Give other people permission to do the same.

 

The section on Mission Statement versus Vision statement was also well articulated, I think the distinction between business-oriented goals and life goals are what separate the two. We might need to revisit our school mission statement.

The book The Art of Possibility by Zander and Zander is a book that gave me much to think about when it comes to how I am living my life and how I affect those around me. I would recommend the book to those individuals who need a timeout to evaluate their current situations.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Livingston County Photographers Group

Monthly Meetings on 2nd and 4th Wednesday.

Heroclixin' ...it's all about F.U.N.

HeroClix team builds, figure reviews, battle reports and more

Graphic Policy

Where Comic Books and Politics Meet

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Married With Clix Battle Report

Tournament Results, Friendly Fire, Review Articles and more from your Favourite Clixin' Couple

The Hudsucker

Read. Think. Repeat.

Gaming Grounds

Defy The Meta

HeroClix Danger Room

Classic teams, classic matchups and more

[grey_zealot's_zone]

Amateur hobby blog, about HeroClix and other topics of interest. I am NOT a journalist or professional writer. NOT an artist. Blue collar shlub with opinions.

Daily Misfit

Funny Photos & Pop Culture

Planetary Defense Command

Defending the planet from bad science fiction

EDM Greene

Ken Greene's EDM Blog

Dave's World

Dave Gibson 2.0

EDM613_Mark_Chacon

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Thomas Tobar

MAC Full Sail Class

